Terroir and Typicity in Cold Hardy Grapes

Northern Grapes Project Webinar Series
“Terroir and Typicity in Cold Hardy Grapes”
Anna Katharine Mansfield, Cornell University                          

Tuesday, January 12th, 2016
12:00 Noon Eastern (11:00 a.m Central)
7:00 pm Eastern (6:00 p.m. Central)

The marketing power of varietal typicity and wine terroir is undeniable, but can be hard for producers (and consumers!) to fully grasp. There’s no simple way to measure typicity, and it’s hard to tease cultivar effects from those of terroir with only a few decades of vintage data from a limited geographical area. Despite that, cold-climate winemakers can be proactive in defining their own terroir and typicity if they understand both the parameters that influence wine character and the way consumers interact with these parameters. This webinar, led by Anna Katharine Mansfield of Cornell University, will mix enology, consumer research and marketing in an effort to further the discussion of Cold-Climate wines and regions.

 Register via the following link: https://cornell.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_0qPnfNOA5YB2hO5
Registration will close at 8 am (Eastern) on Friday, January 8th

There is no charge for this webinar.  Recordings of all webinars are posted at http://northerngrapesproject.org/?page_id=257 within one week of the webinar date. 

 The Northern Grapes Project is funded by the USDA’s Specialty Crops Research Initiative Program of the National Institute for Food and Agriculture, Project #2011-51181-30850.